11th July The Russian composers and the violoncello

Kalamata Dance Megaron - Studio | 20:30 o'clock | Entrance 5 €

Chamber music concert


Angelos Liakakis – violoncello, Titos Gouvelis – piano




NIKOLAY MYASKOVSKY (1881 – 1950), Sonata for cello and piano No.2, Op.81

  • Allegro moderato

  • Andante cantabile

  • Allegro con spirito


ALFRED SCHNITTKE (1934 – 1998), Sonata for cello and piano No.1

  • Largo

  • Presto

  • Largo




DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH (1906 – 1975), Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor, Op. 40

  • Allegro non troppo – Largo

  • Allegro

  • Largo

  • Allegro

Angelos Liakakis was born in Athens in 1980. He began taking cello lessons from Hristos Sfetsas and continued his studies as a scholar of the Onassis and Greek State Scholarships Foundations with Csaba Onczay, Leonid Gorokhov and Kim Bak Dinitzen.

He is a frequent performer, both as a soloist and as a chamber musician. He has given concerts and recitals in major festivals throughout Greece and abroad, having an extensive repertoire, which ranges from the baroque to the contemporary. His solo appearances include collaborations with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Evergreen Symphony Orchestra, the Bilkent Symphony Orchestra, the Athens and Thessaloniki State Orchestras, the Greek National Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Athens Camerata and Orchester 1756 among others.

He has been a member of the renowned New Hellenic Quartet, with which he gave numerous concerts and recorded extensively for the BIS, EMI, Naxos and Legend labels.

Angelos Liakakis is a professor of cello and chamber music at the Athens Conservatoire and he is giving regular masterclasses at the Pelion Festival in Greece.

Titos Gouvelis was born in Athens. He studied the piano with Aris Garoufalis (Athens Conservatoire), Peter Katin (Royal College of Music, London), Fali Pavri (Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama) and Dominique Merlet. He has also studied the organ with Nicolas Kynaston. He has won prizes in many piano competitions in Greece and abroad and has been awarded the “Mykoniou” Prize from the Academy of Athens. He has performed as soloist with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the State Philharmonic of Transylvania, the Athens and Thessaloniki State Orchestras, the Armonia Atenea, the Greek Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra, the Athens Municipality Symphony Orchestra, the Athens Academica, and others. He has given piano recitals and chamber music concerts in many major concert halls in Greece and abroad (United Kingdom, Germany, Austria, Holland, Romania, Serbia, Turkey, South Korea, Nigeria and Cyprus). He collaborates regularly with distinguished artists, such as Angelos Liakakis (cello), Maira Milolidaki (soprano), and Charalampos Angelopoulos (piano). His repertoire ranges from the Baroque era to the 21st century. Greek music is a major part of it (works by more than 60 Greek composers) with many world premieres. He is currently professor at the Athens Conservatory and at the “Nikolaos Mantzaros” Conservatory. He is also programmes’ annotator of the Athens State Orchestra.

Grand Sponsor:
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Produced by:
Exclusive Donor:

© 2019 by International Kalamata Music Days